Remembering Ian Fleming, the creator of James Bond

Remembering Ian Fleming, the creator of James Bond

May 28, 2020 0 By 007 Travelers

The creator of James Bond Ian Fleming was born 28th of May 1908 in London, England and died 12th of August 1964 in Canterbury, England.

He wrote 12 Bond novels and two short stories, which were published between 1953 and 1966.

Sean Connery (James Bond) and Ian Fleming on the set of first Bond movie “Dr. No” (1962)

Ian Fleming’s Bond books: 

Casino Royale (1953)
Live and Let Die (1954)
Moonraker (1955)
Diamonds Are Forever (1956)
From Russia, with Love (1957)
Dr. No (1958)
Goldfinger (1959)
For Your Eyes Only (1960)
From a View to a Kill” (short story)
For Your Eyes Only” (short story)
Quantum of Solace” (short story)
Risico” (short story)
The Hildebrand Rarity” (short story)

Thunderball (1961)
The Spy Who Loved Me (1962)
On Her Majesty’s Secret Service (1963)
You Only Live Twice (1964)
The Man with the Golden Gun (1965)
Octopussy and The Living Daylights (1966)
Octopussy” (short story)
The Living Daylights” (short story)
The Property of a Lady” (short story)
007 in New York” (short story), (1964)

Fleming was married to Ann Charteris, who was divorced from the second Viscount Rothermere because of her affair with the author. Fleming and Charteris had a son, Caspar. Fleming was a heavy smoker and drinker for most of his life and succumbed to heart disease in 1964 at the age of 56. Two of his James Bond books were published posthumously; other writers have since produced Bond novels. Fleming’s creation has appeared in film twenty-six times, portrayed by seven actors.

See more OTHER 007 RELATED NEWS here