007 Book: SilverFin (2005)

Bond book: SilverFin
Publication date: 3 March 2005
SilverFin is the first novel in the Young Bond series that depicts Ian Fleming’s superspy James Bond as a teenager in the 1930s. Because Ian Fleming never explicitly said when James Bond was born, Ian Fleming Publications and Charlie Higson chose the year 1920 as his birth year. SilverFin takes place in 1933.
SilverFin is broken up into three parts in addition to a prologue. In the prologue, an unnamed school boy is attacked by eels, attracted to a bleeding fishhook cut, while fishing in Loch Silverfin. The first part of the book chronicles James Bond’s starting attendance at Eton College, which is one of the best schools in England. The second part of the novel details the spring break. James travels to Scotland to meet with his Aunt Charmian. It is also in this part of the novel that Higson reveals the details of Bond’s parents’ death, first mentioned in Ian Fleming’s You Only Live Twice.

A graphic novel adaptation of SilverFin written by Charlie Higson and illustrated by artist Kev Walker was released by Puffin Books in the UK on 2 October 2008 and by Disney Hyperion in the U.S. on 18 May 2010.

See more information here

See more 007 BOOKS here

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *